Commissioning Committee 2021/23

To ensure long-term continuation of the Fund’s ambitions and building upon the achievements of the inaugural Special Project 2020/2021, as of 2021 a Commissioning Committee will curate the productions and acquisitions based on a three-year term appointment.

The Commissioning Committee 2021/23 is composed of Myriam Ben Salah, Carolyn Christov Bakargiev, Charl Landvreugd, Sohrab Mohebbi, Gabi Ngcobo, Emily Pethick & Philip Tinari.


The first artists selected by the Commissioning Committee 2021/23 are Meriem BennaniGrada KilombaNolan Oswald Dennis and Monira Al Qadiri

Further selected artists will be announced soon.


The committee members are responsible for the nomination and selection of artists and artworks for acquisition. The selected works are in various phases of production and will be acquired through the Hartwig Art Production | Collection Fund, which holds an annual acquisition budget of €500,000. All the acquired works will be donated to the collection of the Dutch state (the ‘Rijkscollectie’) and will be available for institutional loans in the Netherlands and abroad.