2020 – 2021

The Hartwig Art Production | Collection Fund announces the selected artists for the 2020/21 special project.

Ana Guedes, Anna Dasović, Em’Kal Eyongakpa, Geo Wyeth, Joy Mariama Smith, Kent Chan, Kevin Osepa, Maria Pask, Mariana Castillo Deball, Mariëlle Videler, Neo Matloga, Ola Hassanain, Family Connection (Rudsel Martinus, Glenda Martinus, Gala Martinus, Quinsy Gario, Jörgen Gario, Caldron Lewis & Whitney Lewis), Saeeda Saeed and Sara Sejin Chang (Sara van der Heide) have been selected for the 2020/21 project of the Hartwig Art Production | Collection Fund.

Each artist receives an honorarium of 10,000 euros to support the continuation of their practice. A further 300,000 euros has been assigned to acquire the works that will be exhibited from September onwards. In keeping with the Fund’s future activities, these works will then be donated to the Dutch national art collection (the ‘Rijkscollectie’).

The 2020/21 project of the Hartwig Art Production | Collection Fund has been conceived in response to the critical moment artists and institutions are working in now. It aims to emphasise the importance of post academic programmes and residency organisations for artists and curators and the active scene of small- and mid-size institutions in the Netherlands. Highlighting their contribution to a culturally lively and diverse society, the Hartwig Art Production | Collection Fund has invited a vibrant group of these institutions to define the parameters of the 2020/21 project.

The shortlist of the participating artists was drawn from a long-list of 35 artists proposed by the post academic programmes and residency organisations, with whom they have previously worked: De Ateliers, (Amsterdam), BAK, basis voor actuele kunst (Utrecht), CBK Zuidoost, (Amsterdam), If I Can’t Dance I Don’t Want To Be Part Of Your Revolution, (Amsterdam), Jan van Eyck Akademie (Maastricht), Rijksakademie van beeldende kunsten (Amsterdam) and TENT (Rotterdam).

The curatorial team

The curatorial team, consisting of Sharmyn Cruz Rivera, Iris Ferrer, Aude Christel Mgba, Jo-Lene Ong and Rita Ouédraogo, was selected by de Appel and Framer Framed – both of which actively promote an emerging and diverse group of curators.

The newly produced works by the 15 artists will be exhibited from September 2021 onwards across five institutions: Stroom Den Haag (The Hague), Oude Kerk (Amsterdam), Kunstituut Melly (Rotterdam), Vleeshal (Middelburg) & Casco Art Institute: Working for the Commons (Utrecht).

We strongly believe that the selected artists best represent the kind of aesthetics, narratives and contemporary conditions being explored now in relation to the Netherlands and we are excited to see their entry points and approaches to issues that need more space for discussion. We are also delighted to see how their practice will benefit from the support and positive attention that come with this project.

The curatorial team

Art is a fine and elaborate practice of imagining, forming, shaping, playing and experimenting. Likewise the institutions that support art and engage with such practices in close relationship with artists, with a lot of administration, maintenance, mediative work also necessary. Moments of change – like now – require this kind of art and art-institutional work to remain sharp and act well. The Hartwig Art Production | Collection Fund brings an opportunity for us institutions, artists, publics and other stakeholders to come together, each with our own capacity and skill, to lift up our common task and address wider, diverse communities. In the case of Casco Art Institute, we look forwards to presenting four different artist projects in the context of cultivating the culture of the commons.

Binna Choi, Director, Casco Art Institute: Working for the Commons (Utrecht)

I’m thrilled to collaborate with the Hartwig Art Foundation on this collective project, in which so many people are involved. It’s a perfect example of how a group effort with many voices can lead to interesting results. I like the fact that the Foundation doesn’t want any control over the processes of nominating and selecting artists, nor over the artists’ productions. A quote by Dutch writer Niña Weijers comes to mind: “To experience intensity is to not know how things will end”. Furthermore, I think it is of utmost importance that artists are supported in the production of new work, so any project that does just that is more than welcome.

Roos Gortzak, Director, Vleeshal (Middelburg)

At Kunstinstituut Melly, we are thrilled to be part of an initiative that focuses on contemporary artists shaping new legacies and that fosters cross-institutional partnerships.

Sofía Hernández Chong Cuy, Director, Kunstinstituut Melly (Rotterdam)

Oude Kerk is thrilled to be dedicating its interhistorical expertise and space to two of the selected artists, Ana Guedes and Em’kal Eyongakpa. We believe in the power of collaborations in the art world and beyond.

Jacqueline Grandjean, Director, Oude Kerk (Amsterdam)

As an advocate of experimental programming and new forms of collaboration, Stroom is delighted to participate in a cross-pollination between all the institutions involved, together with the Hartwig Art Foundation and others. We are happy to offer Neo Matloga, Anna Dasović and Kevin Osepa a stimulating and hospitable platform, looking forward to the collaboration and to bring them in contact with the lively art scene of The Hague.

Alexandra Landré, Artistic Director Stroom Den Haag